Dr. Norman Borlaug received the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize in recognition of his outstanding and tireless fight against hunger all over the world.

IFA decided to rename its “IFA International Crop Nutrition Award” to honour the “Father of the Green Revolution”, a strong supporter of the fertilizer industry, who showed the world the vital links between science, technology, extension and agricultural production.

The IFA Norman Borlaug Award

Every year since 1993, IFA grants the Norman Borlaug Award to a person whose research or extension work has led to significant advances in crop nutrition. The Norman Borlaug Award allows IFA to promote research and knowledge transfer on efficient and effective fertilizer use.

Invitation to nominate candidates

IFA recognizes individuals whose contribution to effective last-mile delivery has been outstanding as they play a crucial role in transferring knowledge from researchers to the farmers.

For 2018, IFA is inviting individuals from developing countries and economies in transition involved in crop nutrition knowledge transfer whose work has significantly advanced the adoption of nutrient best management practices by farmers to apply for the award. His/her work must show significant improvements in productivity, profitability, fertilizer use efficiency, environmental sustainability, food quality and human health, and rural life in general.

The recipient of the IFA Norman Borlaug Award will receive € 10,000 (ten thousand Euros) and will be invited as a guest to the IFA Strategic Forum to be held on 13-14 November 2018 in Beijing, China.

We look forward to receiving your nominations.

Charlotte Hebebrand
Director General


The award is offered to individuals (not to organizations or companies) for their agricultural extension work with farmers in developing countries and countries with economies in transition. Qualifying work should reflect the level of senior extension officer from IFA member companies, or from public, private or civil society organizations involved in agricultural knowledge transfer.

Research work that has no obvious impact on knowledge transfer is not taken into account in the evaluation of the candidates.

Individuals with international organizations or institutions are not eligible.

Nomination procedure

Applications must be submitted in English and in electronic format by e-mail. Qualified individuals must be nominated by an IFA member. Applications must be submitted to an IFA member by 15 June 2018, and nominations by members must be forwarded to the IFA Secretariat by 30 June 2018.

The IFA Secretariat will only consider applications following the required format. The duly completed application form should not exceed a total number of 2,500 words for the qualification statements.
Download Application Form
Applicants must provide examples of relevant documents (brochures, leaflets, papers, etc.) and photos of tools quoted in their application form. Only ten supporting documents attached to the application form will be considered.

Additional documents and nomination letters from other organizations, lists of publications and any other material will not be considered by the selection panel.

Only complete entries following the conditions set above with the required nomination letter from an IFA member in good standing are qualified and will be accepted.

If applicants need assistance to identify an appropriate IFA member, please contact Mrs Sophie Palmié, Tel: +33 1 53 93 05 27, Fax: +33 1 53 93 05 47, spalmie@fertilizer.org


An independent panel will select the laureate on the basis of the long-term impact and quality of his/her work, and wide adoption by farmers.

Preference is given to extension work leading to widespread adoption of nutrient best management practices resulting in significant improvements in productivity, profitability, fertilizer use efficiency, environmental sustainability, food quality and human health, and rural life in general. Concrete evidence should demonstrate the impact of the candidate’s extension work.

The Award recipient will be announced on Global Fertilizer Day (13 October 2018).

Regions eligible for the 2018 IFA Award

  • Africa
  • Asia (except Israel, Japan, the Republic of Korea and the Taiwan Province of China)
  • Eastern Europe and Central Asia
  • Latin America and the Caribbean
  • Oceania (except Australia and New Zealand)

No content found

No content found